Day 25

Finished necklace and brooch

Finished necklace and brooch

As promised I set about making a gift for my friend Nic – whose birthday is today (yes, I know it should be there already – she had her card this morning with a little something in it!). She tells me she often wears navy blue – which made the colour inspiration quite straight forward! I thought I’d combine, and refine a couple of the things I’ve made recently. The crochet necklace is longer this time, with 103 chain for the shortest length. The flowers I’ve made to add to the necklace are a little different to the ones I made for the brooch. This time the petal shape is cut rather than folded and the edges raw – over time they may fray a little, but to my mind that will add to the charm!

The fabrics for the necklace flower include some up-cycled navy wool from a coat which my mother owned in the 1960s – at some point after she stopped wearing it, she took it apart at the seams, intending to remake it as something else, she never did. I inherited it when she passed her stash on to me a couple of years ago – it makes a brilliant base for a variety of makes. I used another circle of the wool to glue the brooch flowers to before I stitched them on to the brooch back. This way they are more stable as there are two this time. 

The two flowers for the brooch are smaller than the ones I made previously and I thought the pearl bead centres are quite perfect for the size of flower. 

I do hope that my friend Nic will enjoy wearing them as much as I have enjoyed making them…there’s a chance these may have inspired me for another couple of birthdays coming up!

The best thing about making things repeatedly is that it helps refine the process…and these are giving me great ideas for makes for Activities Week at work in the summer – Happy Saturday folks 🙂

Leave a Reply

