Day 42

Finishing up yesterday's project

Finishing up yesterday’s project

So yesterday I was messing around with some paper cutting, and this ‘happy birthday’ began to take an interesting form as the letters stood up. Today I finished off cutting it out and decided to attach it to a piece of black card – attached with some glue tape, some of the letters would have stayed stuck down altogether so I dug out some star ‘glitter’ I’ve had since forever (I think since I was about 9!) and stuck stars on to all the exposed glue. 

Starry birthday

Starry birthday

I didn’t want all the letters to stay stuck when removed from the envelope. I had almost forgotten about the ‘glitter’ pieces, there are stars and hearts. I remember being given them as a child – I still have them because partly I didn’t have ideas on how to use them, but also because I remember thinking them so pretty I didn’t want to ‘waste’ them. This is a tendency I work hard at shaking – it’s not something I struggle with so much these days, holding on unnecessarily!

Paper cut Cinderella standing out

Paper cut Cinderella standing out

On the ‘front’ I’ve fixed the Cinderella paper cut from yesterday, I like how it stands out against the black. Hoping the recipient likes it too, but I’ve had fun making it. Then of course we need to make the envelope equally pretty …

Leave a Reply

