For those setting out on their sewing journey…

There are so many blogs out there from lovely and talented creative folks who can tell you all about their sewing journeys and with hints and tips of how to do the best job. I make no claim to this blog post being one of those, but it is a blog inspired by @vivschreibke @LesleyMunro4 @ms_jamdangory @blondebonce amongst some other truly lovely people with stitching in their fingers (or at least daydreams of stitching!)

This blog itself started with a plan on 1 January 2014 to feed my creative soul and give me some ‘flow’. I think I talked then or at least on my first sewing post, about how I learnt to use a sewing machine from my Mum. She wasn’t overly fussed about patterns, for my first attempts we drafted patterns ourselves. At 12 I made a crop top and skirt from an old sheet (old bedding is great for cutting up and experimenting with!). Wore them proudly all summer 😊. I returned to sewing about 5 years ago, and gradually I’ve built up my repertoire, it’s still building. 

Here I thought I’d share some of the blogs and books and resources I’ve accessed to develop my skills as they might be of use to others. (Special mention here for Ellie, hope you have some particular inspiration!)

Books: 

  • Library – check them out for free, see if you like the contents, if there’s enough good stuff, think about buying. 
  • When buying visit The Works, great for discounts! Also of course, you can flick through before committing 😉
  • Choose carefully, what does a book add to your creative library?

These are some of my favourites:

 

I’m not much of a hand stitcher, but it has some lovely motifs and a great luggage tag pattern and passport cover pattern. I used this when I added the embroidery to my cardigan. 

 

Love the ideas in here, it’s been the starting point for embellishing (and sometimes mending) small people clothes, making handmade cards and generally using my sewing machine to doodle! (also makes me feel pangs of sadness for the demise of Mum’s old Singer sewing machine 😔 though the production of pretty things soon fixes that😉)

 

This was a fabulous gift from a friend right when I was reacquainting myself with sewing. The photographs and explanations are so clear for almost any skill you might need (if it’s not in here, try YouTube or searching the net!). There are also some great simple projects for accessories and for clothing with clear guidance on how to draft simple patterns for items such as a circle skirt (and who doesn’t love to twirl?). As they are patterns for you to draft they are also suitable for numerous ages and sizes. 

 

Like this of all Kelly Doust’s books best, again some glorious and generally simple and straightforward ideas, and more than just sewing. I use this for purses particularly, but I’ve taken inspiration for several different creative ideas.  

Patterns online/blogs/websites:

  • Ditto Fabrics – a must visit whenever I’m in Brighton. They are so helpful, love fabric and they’ve a fantastic range at really reasonable prices, even after postage. 
  • Simple paperbag pattern dress with free printing of a pattern – I confess I have yet to make it, but possibly going to give something similar a go soon. 
  • Any ideas as to why I might love this? I say again, who doesn’t love to twirl? Simple Tulle Skirt she also has several other free patterns which again, you draft yourself, so good for all sizes and ages. 
  • Several free patterns here from Peppermint Magazine many different items of clothing with reasonable instructions. 
  • Free patterns for quite small people from Oliver & S
  • Want some fancy shoelaces? Here’s the site you need 
  • Fabulous blog where the creator uses all sorts of mainstream and sometimes independent patterns along with some pattern hacking (using the parts you like best from different patterns to make something new)
  • Pyjama trouser pattern. Fairly straight forward to follow or adapt, look at your own quite closely to see how they’ve been made up. 
  • The Purl Bee, all kinds of different crafting ideas.

There it is, all the lovely things I can think of for now. Last year I made all kinds of things and usually explained where the inspiration came from or how to do it in the blog, feel free to steal away 😊 all posts are tagged so you can search for sew or sewing and will find all related posts! Hope this helps…always feel free to ask as I’m always happy to help as far as I’m able x

Leave a Reply

